Title

Laura Bambrey Books

It's all about the books... News. Reviews. Interviews

Wednesday, 24 May 2017

Blogtour: Review: Deadly Alibi by Leigh Russell

I’m excited to be today’s blogtour stop for Leigh Russell’s Deadly Alibi, which is due for paperback release tomorrow. This is the first of Russell’s books that I’ve read, and I’ve been looking forward to sharing my review ever since I finished the last page.

Deadly Alibi is a book that didn’t let up its pace for even a second- it has you desperately trying to solve the murders alongside DI Steel and her team- whilst practically jumping up and down when you think you seen something that they haven’t. Russell is an incredibly clever author- packing in suspects, red herrings, extra plot and complications- without once making you feel like you’ve been left behind. As a reader you’re in on every single bit of the action- gasping for breath- enjoying the ride. A relaxing read this certainly isn’t!

Deadly Alibi is book 9 of Russell’s hugely popular DI Geraldine Steel series – for which I’m very grateful as it’s one of those books you come to the end of and instantly want to read more about these brilliant characters. I’ll be delving straight back into the rest of the series- though I have to say that Deadly Alibi worked perfectly as a standalone novel- and I didn’t feel like I was missing anything having jumped straight in so far through the series.

If you like your crime peppered with some seriously disturbing suspects, a good dollop of police procedural, a fantastic Detective Inspector with a story to tell and some fantastically plotted nastiness- I recommend you pick up Deadly Alibi.

Grab your copy:


The Blurb:


The ninth novel in the DI Geraldine Steel series
A hand gripped her upper arm so suddenly it made her yelp. Biting her lower lip, she spun round, lashing out in terror. As she yanked her arm out of his grasp, her elbow hit the side of his chest. Struggling to cling on to her, he lost his footing. She staggered back and reached out, leaning one hand on the cold wall of the tunnel. Before she had recovered her balance he fell, arms flailing, eyes glaring wildly as he disappeared over the edge of the platform onto the rails below. . .

Two murder victims and a suspect whose alibi appears open to doubt... Geraldine Steel is plunged into a double murder investigation which threatens not only her career, but her life.

When her previously unknown twin Helena turns up, her problems threaten to make Geraldine's life turn toxic in more ways than one.


About Leigh Russell

Leigh Russell has sold over a million crime fiction novels, and writes full time. Published in English
and in translation throughout Europe, her Geraldine Steel and Ian Peterson titles have appeared on many bestseller lists, and reached #1 on kindle. Leigh's work has been nominated for several major awards, including the CWA New Blood Dagger and CWA Dagger in the Library, and her Geraldine Steel and Ian Peterson series are in development for television with major television production company Avalon Television.

Leigh writes the Lucy Hall mystery series published by Thomas and Mercer.


Find out more about Leigh on her website http://www.leighrussell.co.uk where news, reviews and interviews are posted, with a schedule of Leigh's appearances.

Monday, 22 May 2017

Blogtour: Summer at Conwenna Cove by Darcie Boleyn


Good morning my lovelies- long time no news!

I have the pleasure of being today’s tour stop for a very special book- Summer at Conwenna Cove by Darcie Boleyn – but I have to admit that today is a bit of a first for me and I need to explain a bit about it before telling you more about the book.

So, you might have noticed that I’ve been AWOL from the blog for a couple of weeks. I hit a complete reading desert. It wasn’t that I wasn’t enjoying reading- more that I haven’t been reading at all. For some people, I guess not picking ing a book for a couple of weeks or even a month isn’t a source of worry. For me, where I’m used to devouring four or five books a week, it’s a bit of a shock to the system- and the fear sets in - what if this is it... what if I don't get it back? I’ve seen various other bloggers talk about burn-out where they become overwhelmed and disenchanted by the amount they have been reading and posting. I guess that this has been my form of burnout.

I have experienced this a couple of times before, and oddly, it seems to hit around the same time of year. Whether it’s an up-swing in real-life business or the weather or the change in light- I just stop wanting to read for about a month. I try not to let it worry me and ride the wave and tell myself that I know I’ll get back to reading sooner or later- and I try not to let the guilt of not posting here from kicking my bum (I’m very good at guilt!) It's almost like I've eaten too much and need to take the time to digest all of those stories and characters before I can add any more.

The thing is, it takes a really special book to lift me out of the reading desert, and this time around, my book-saviour is Summer at Conwenna Cove by Darcie Boleyn.

As I mentioned above- this blog tour is a first for me. Obviously, as a blogger you sign-up for a tour weeks or even months in advance- when you have no clue that the dreaded blogger-drought is going to hit again. I promised a review but I’m not going to be able to deliver- not yet. You see I haven’t finished reading the book yet. I’m at about 60% and every page is like a gift. I absolutely refuse to rush this gem of a book- this gorgeous piece of writing which is- word by word- putting my world to rights, reigniting my passion for fiction and letting me fall in love with characters all over again.

Selfish? Maybe. But right now, that’s possibly the most glowing accolade I could give to any book- I want to continue to savour the story and allow it to work its magic on me. I want to give Eve and Jack and Gabe the time they deserve. I don't know how else to put it other than... slowing down enough to show how much you love something. I think Eve would understand.

If you’re looking for a beautiful, funny read that will make you believe that anything is possible, no matter how dark your days have been – this is the one for you. Thank you Darcie for bringing reading back to life for me. I’ll have a full review up later in the week.

Grab your copy here:



The Blurb:


In a gorgeous Cornish village, two brokenhearted people fall head over heels. But can the magic of Conwenna Cove heal the hurt of the past? A feel-good summer romance perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Phillipa Ashley and Jenny Hale.

Eve has a glittering career, a loving husband and a future. But a terrible twist of fate means she loses it all, and with nowhere left to turn she flees to her Aunt Mary’s home in Cornwall. The last thing on her mind is romance – until she meets Jack.

Jack has seen the worst things people can do to each other and realised he is better off alone. He settles in Conwenna Cove, and saves his affections for the rescue dogs he cares for. But when Eve arrives in the village he can’t deny his attraction to her.

Eve and Jack are both scared to trust, but when they come together it’s impossible for either to ignore their feelings. Can they put their fear aside and learn to love again?

Summer at Conwenna Cove is an emotional and heart-warming holiday read about being brave enough to take a chance on love.

About Darcie Boleyn:

Darcie Boleyn has a huge heart and is a real softy. She never
fails to cry at books and movies, whether the ending is happy or not. Darcie is in possession of an overactive imagination that often keeps her awake at night. Her childhood dream was to become a Jedi but she hasn’t yet found suitable transport to take her to a galaxy far, far away. She also has reservations about how she’d look in a gold bikini, as she rather enjoys red wine, cheese and loves anything with ginger or cherries in it – especially chocolate. Darcie fell in love in New York, got married in the snow, rescues uncoordinated greyhounds and can usually be found reading or typing away on her laptop.

Friday, 12 May 2017

#Friday5: Interview With Fallen Author Lauren Kate

Hi Lauren! Thank you so much for taking part in this week’s #Friday5. Huge congratulations on the DVD release of Fallen here in the UK – the film is beautiful and it was really exciting to watch your characters brought to life. So… now to pick your brain a little…

1. Can you tell us a bit about how much involvement you had in the creation of the film version of Fallen, and what this experience has been like for you as the author?

I'm an executive producer and have worked closely on the movie. I've loved collaborating with Scott Hicks on bringing the story to the screen. I worked on the script (and wrote the voice over for the opening scene of the movie, with Miss Sophia's introduction to the world), and spent time on set with the cast and crew. It's been a beautiful experience and I'm proud that we ended up with a beautiful movie.

2. I’ve seen on your blog that Cam is the only Fallen character based on someone in real-life – your husband. What was it like choosing an actor for this role and seeing Cam come to life on the screen?

I was most nervous to cast Cam. I can't express my fondness and gratitude to Harrison for being as thoughtful, devoted, inquisitive, and damn hot as he is. He's perfect and he makes the movie, in my opinion.

3. What about the other characters? Though they’re not based on individual real-life people, you’ve known them for more than 7 years. Do you have a favourite character / actor match-up?

Addison is so rawly talented. I have a deep appreciation to her for bringing Luce to life on screen.
She cares about the character, the story, and the love as much as I do, as much as Fallen's greatest readers do. And she's hilarious and extremely cool. She has an intuition about people that I think makes her so good at what she does. The whole cast is truly great, but I also must give a shout out to Lola Kirke for stealing scenes.

4. Having seen the film last week, I thought that some of the design elements were stunning- and for me, the depiction of the angel’s wings was absolutely beautiful. Luce running her fingers through the feathers is one of those images that will stay with me for life! It must have been an incredibly tough job translating such mythical elements of your books into visuals. Do you have any favourite moments from the film that you feel captured everything you imagined as you were writing?

I completely agree with you. The wings moment is breathtaking, perfect. It could have gone so badly, but it's one of the film's greatest achievements.

5. Having worked closely on the film of Fallen and seen the finished product- will the experience creatively influence the way you write your future books?

I don't think so. I've loved working on this movie, but writing the books is its own thing. I do, however, keep in mind my readers. It has shaped the way I write some to know the people who are waiting to read my books. They inspire me all the time.

Lauren, thank you so much for taking the time to join me on the blog today!


Book Blurb:


SOME ANGELS ARE DESTINED TO FALL.

Instant. Intense. Weirdly familiar . . .

The moment Luce looks at Daniel she knows she has never felt like this before. Except she can't shake the feeling that she has . . . and with him - a boy she doesn't remember ever setting eyes on.

Will her attempt to find out why enlighten her - or destroy her?

Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic. Fallen is a thrilling story about forbidden love.


Kindle:                          Paperback                  DVD